• del.icio.us

Welcome!

Welcome to the whirlwind that will be the next 14 weeks! I’m sure it’s going to be a fascinating ride. Did you watch Sarah Palin’s speech last night? Follow the Twitter conversation along the way on the C-SPAN hub? What were your thoughts? Feel free to leave comments here if you have something to say.

A few housekeeping notes:

* When I email you this semester, I’ll be using your Georgetown email unless you email me to tell me differently. If you’d prefer I use something else (work, Gmail, Yahoo, etc.), just let me know.

* There’s an updated and corrected syllabus available here, as well as in the Blogroll off to the right. If you have any questions about what I covered last night in regards to the Academic Resource Center or the Honor Council, I’d encourage you to check out those links too.

To the best of your ability, please read “The Last Campaign” for next week. Other than that, though, just start acquainting yourself with all the blogs that I mentioned on the syllabus and dive in! You’ll have to come up with two Del.icio.us posts before next week’s class so read widely and frequently between now and then. You’ll be using the class feed off to the right and remember the password is our classroom. You do NOT want to create your own account—use the class account.

3 Responses

  1. Definitely, it was an experience for me. Ironically, I come from a country that monitors the internet, and of course many smart young kids over there fight this war and find their way to break these proxies. However, I am felt strange because I am a TV person; I believe in image, I lost concentration while I am following the TV and the blogs. Bloggers are fast!!
    One point concerning the Syllabus, can you please list the books we are required to read, I am a bit confused with the quantity of books.

    Thanx

  2. Regardless of our political persuasions, I think we can all agree that last night was an exciting night for women in politics. Palin accomplished three goals. For starters, she quelled doubts that she can fight back and defend her positions, which she did with the tenacity of a tigress and the grace of a statesman. Second, she presented her family as just another Brady Bunch with normal issues and problems. Third, and most important, she took the ticket’s reform message right to the heartland-she appealed to small town women who shop at Wal Mart and car pool. These women value authenticity over style, and a record of accomplishment over soaring rhetoric and gaudy presentations.
    Fortunately for McCain, the ticket is making great strides with the women demographic. BEFORE the Palin speech, Zogby shows that the ticket has diminished Sen. Obama’s double digit lead with women to roughly seven points. See Link.
    http://www.zogby.com/news/ReadNews.dbm?ID=1547

  3. I just moved into my house and so I do not have any TV or internet therefore had to miss the speech. Today I did print out a transcript and I was able to watch a 10 minute highlight of the speech and was mildly impressed. Basically she pulled from her speech from Friday, but where were her points on what she is going to do with McCain on changes for the country as for as economic policy? The whole lets steal the Hillary voters is just getting old to me. I have been a long time Republican and for the first time find myself ready to “turn left” as a guest at Fox put it last week. Just a thought- I have been registering for the 7 blogs that we are going to be looking at on a daily basis and trying to familiarize myself with them. Im still pretty confused with DELICIOUS so I printed out some wikipedia info on it as a tutorial. I am afraid I will blog incorrectly on it if that is possible…..Just so I am clear on this, are we supposed to do our two blogs for next week on the reading from the book “The Last Campaign?” Or are they supposed to be about the blogs we are following? I know it is under DELICIOUS under assignments and I should probably get it, but I am a tad confused. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

